Fall Semester 2021 Catalog



1961 Augusta Area Vocational-Technical School was established by the Georgia State Board of Education in conjunction with the Richmond County Board of Education.
1963 The Richmond Area Vocational School was established.
1966 The two schools were combined to form Augusta Area Technical School.
1981 With the exception of the health occupations programs, which remained in a facility on Walton Way, the programs offered by Augusta Area Technical School were moved to one campus located off Deans Bridge Road.
1984 The first students graduated with an Associate of Applied Technology Degree (AAT).
1985  The Automotive Mechanics Program receives the Secretary of Education's Award of Excellence.
1987 Augusta Area Technical School became a state school operated by the Georgia State Board of Technical and Adult Education. The State Board changed the school name to Augusta Technical Institute. The Augusta Technical Institute Foundation was founded to promote higher education by acquiring and administering cash, grants, and other funds to support scholarships, building projects, and other programs at Augusta Technical Institute.
1988 Credit enrollment exceeds 2,000.
1990 Augusta Technical Institute became Augusta’s leading provider of literacy education when the school accepted responsibility for the Office of Adult Education.
1991 Allied Health programs moved to the Deans Bridge Road campus when construction was completed on a new Health Sciences building.
1995 The Augusta Technical Institute Foundation launched The Power To Be Campaign, a major gifts campaign to provide furnishings and equipment for Augusta Technical Institute’s Thomson/McDuffie and Waynesboro/Burke Campuses, technology support, and funds for future land acquisition and capital construction.
1996 Construction is completed on the Center for Advanced Technology.  The Jack B. Patrick Information Technology Center is dedicated.  Construction begins on the Thomson/McDuffie Campus.
1997 Credit enrollment exceeds 4,000. Plans were announced for the Waynesboro/Burke Campus. The Office of Adult Education was moved to the Augusta Campus. The Thomson/McDuffie Campus opened.
1999 Construction began on the Waynesboro/Burke Campus of Augusta Technical Institute. Plans for the Student Services/Classroom Building were announced for the Augusta Campus.
2000 Augusta Technical Institute’s name became Augusta Technical College. The Waynesboro/Burke Campus of Augusta Technical College opened.
2001 Groundbreaking for the Student Services/Classroom Building was held on December 4, 2001.
2002 The 900 building was dedicated to Thelma “T” Ray Allgood.
2003 The Student Services/Classroom Building opened.
2004 The dedication of the Student Services/Classroom Building was held on April 29, 2004.
2005 Funds were appropriated for Columbia County Center.
2006 First planned gift established with the Augusta Technical College Foundation.
2007  Groundbreaking for Columbia County Center.
2008 Ribbon cutting ceremony for the Emergency Medical Services Building.
2009  Columbia County Center building construction begins.
2010 Augusta Tech launches Nuclear Engineering Technology Program in partnership with Southern Company and Georgia Power.
2011 The Columbia County Center in Grovetown official opens its doors to students.

Augusta Technical College is named an "Achieving the Dream College".
Augusta Technical College establishes Campus Police Department.

2018 Augusta Technical College is named a National Center of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense Two-Year Education (CAE2Y), designated by the National Security Agency and Department of Homeland Security.